The IELTS Scale - What does it depicts?

The IELTS Scale - What does it depicts?

Are you aiming for a Good IELTS score? What band score are you aiming for? Let's learn about meaning of British Council IELTS exam score.

IELTS results are reported on a 9-band scale and are designed to be simple and easy to understand. It is obtained based on General Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking Test. Here’s a description of the top five band scores. Remember, there are also half bands too (although there are no descriptors for these).

Band Score 9

Skill Level – Expert User


You have fully operational command of the language. Your use of English is appropriate, accurate and fluent, and shows complete understanding


Band Score 8

Skill Level – Very Good User


You have fully operational command of the language with only occasional unsystematic inaccuracies and inappropriate usage. You may misunderstand some things in unfamiliar situations. You handle complex and detailed argumentation well.


Band Score 7

Skill Level – Good User


You have operational command of the language, though with occasional inaccuracies, inappropriate usage and misunderstandings in some situations. You generally handle complex language well and understand detailed reasoning.


Band Score 6

Skill Level – Competent User


You have an effective command of the language despite some inaccuracies, inappropriate usage and misunderstandings. You can use and understand fairly complex language, particularly in familiar situation.


Band Score 5

Skill Level – Modest User


You have a partial command of the language and cope with overall meaning in most situations, although you are likely to make many mistakes. You should be able to handle basic communication in your own field.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post