The Administrative Structure of Bangladesh


Public Administration is the implementation of government policies. Today public administration is often regarded as including also some responsibility for determining the policies and programs of governments. Specifically, it is the planning, organizing, directing, coordinating, and controlling of government operations.

Administrative Structure of Bangladesh

Administrative Structure of Bangladesh

Type : A Unitary type of Administrative Structure prevails in Bangladesh

Unitary State is a state governed as a single entity in which the central government is ultimately supreme. The central government may create (or abolish) administrative divisions (sub-national units). Such units exercise only the powers that the central government chooses to delegate. Although political power may be delegated through devolution to regional or local governments by statute, the central government may abrogate the acts of devolved governments or curtail (or expand) their powers.

The operational body of the Administrative Structure of Bangladesh works as :

  • Central Secretariat at National Level 
  • Field Administration at the Sub-National Level
Administrative Structure of Bangladesh

Central Secretariat at National Level

The ministries and divisions altogether constituting the Central Secretariat at National Level. The Bangladesh Secretariat, also known as Bangladesh Sachibalaya, is the administrative headquarters of the Government of Bangladesh, and houses the majority of ministries and government agencies and bodies. The secretariat can refer to the complex of ministries, or refer to the Bangladesh Civil Service central administration. Its political heads are the ministers while the administrative heads are the Secretaries to the Government.

Administrative Structure in Secretariat :

Ø Secretary
Ø Additional Secretary
Ø Joint Secretary
Ø Deputy Secretary
Ø Senior Scale Assistant Secretary
Ø Assistant Secretary

Field Administration at the Sub-National Level

General Administration , delivery of public services and implementation of development programs are carried out at sub-national levels, divisions, thanas (upazilas) representing the central level ministries and divisions.

Administrative Structure in Field Administration :

Ø Divisional Commissioner (DC)
Ø Additional Divisional Commissioner
Ø Thana Nirbahi Officer (TNO)
Ø Magistrate
Ø Assistant Commissioner


Bangladesh adopted through a constitutional amendment in 1991 a parliamentary form of government with the Prime Minister as its chief executive and the President as the head of state. The Prime Minister who heads the council of ministers or cabinet thus exercises the country’s Executive powers. The cabinet in turn is collectively responsible to the parliament.

A ministry and each of its constituent divisions are primarily responsible for formulating government policies within its assigned jurisdiction. It plays an important role in supervising and reviewing the execution of its policies. Structurally a ministry is divided into several wings, branches and sections in order to ensure maximum efficiency of its operations

List of Ministries of Bangladesh

  1. Ministry of Home Affairs
  2. Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
  3. Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Co-operatives
  4. Ministry of Science and Technology
  5. Ministry of Fisheries and Livestock
  6. Ministry of Liberation War Affairs
  7. Ministry of Textiles and Jute
  8. Ministry of Road Transport and Bridges
  9. Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
  10. Ministry of Environment and Forest
  11. Ministry of Education
  12. Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs
  13. Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  14. Ministry of Expatriates' Welfare and Overseas Employment
  15. Ministry of Water Resources
  16. Ministry of Housing and Public Works
  17. Ministry of Civil Aviation and Tourism
  18. Ministry of Religious Affairs
  19. Ministry of Women and Children Affairs
  20. Ministry of Information and Communication Technology
  21. Ministry of Labour and Employment
  22. Ministry of Youth and Sports
  23. Ministry of Cultural Affairs
  24. Ministry of Primary and Mass Education
  25. Ministry of Shipping
  26. Ministry of Disaster Management and Relief
  27. Ministry of Railways
  28. Ministry of Planning
  29. Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications Division
  30. Ministry of Land
  31. Ministry of Food
  32. Ministry of Social Welfare Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post