Formation of Mujibnagar Government and It’s Activity

Mujibnagar Government the government constituted at Mujibnagar to conduct the Bangladesh war of liberation, formed on 10 April 1971 after the declaration of independence on 26 March 1971. The Mujibnagar government headed by tajuddin ahmad took oath on 17 April 1971 at Mujibnagar. This government had also been known as Mujibnagar Government in-exile, as the activities of the government had been conducted from outside of the territory of Bangladesh.

Formation of Mujibnagar Government and It’s Activity


The Awami League won by the absolute majority in the general election of Pakistan in 1970 under the leadership of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. The people of East Pakistan voted for the Awami League to be free from the oppression of the Pakistani rulers. But the rulers of the West Pakistan started hatching plots not to hand over the power to the Awami League. The then Pakistan President and the Military Chief Mohammad Yahia Khan suspended the session of the national assembly on 1 March 1971 sine die. Sheikh Mujibur Rahman called for Ashhojog Andolon on 2 March protesting the decision. In a historic speech delivered at the Racecourse on 7 March 1971, Bangabandhu called for a decisive struggle to achieve the liberation and independence. The Pakistan army swooped on the civilians on 25 March. Bangabandhu declared the independence on the early hours of 26 March. The formal campaign of the liberation war began after the formation of the Mujibnagar government and the approval of the constitutional declaration on 10 April.


Mujibnagar Government

The first official government of the People's Republic of Bangladesh, popularly known as the Mujibnagar Government, was formed on April 10, 1971.

The newly formed government took oath on 17th April, 1971 in the then Meherpur district.

The venue of the oath was a mango forest in Baidyantala which was renamed by the provisional government. 

Why Mujibnagar Government was formed?

  • To ensure the equality, human dignity and social justice for the people of Bangladesh.
  • To organize the civil administration.
  • To keep the unity of the general people irrespective of classes or professions including Armed Forces, Police & EPR.
  • To organize the freedom fighters.
  • To arrange the training of freedom fighters.
  • To keep the freedom fighter’s morale high.


Formation of Mujibnagar Government

The formation of the Mujibnagar Government was very important in the history of liberation.

Tajuddin Ahmed played a significant role.

On 1st April, 1971, he and Barrister Amirul Islam went to India and on 3rd April, he met the then Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. He explained the overall situation that was prevailing in Bangladesh.

On 17th April, 1971, Syed Nazrul Islam hoisted the National flag in absence of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. Professor Md. Yusuf Ali read out the announcement of independent Bangladesh at the oath taking ceremony. 

Some local singers sang the National Anthem "Amar sonar Bangla, ami tomay valobashi". The oath taking program was witnessed by a 10,000 strong crowd which included contingents of the EPR, Ansar and Freedom fighters. A press statement was issued after the inauguration of the government.


Panel of Mujibnagar Government

President: Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman

Vice President: Syed Nazrul Islam (Acting President in absence of Bangabandhu)

Prime Minister: Tajuddin Ahmed

Finance Minister: M. Mansur Ali

Home, Relief and Rehabilitation Minister: A.H.M. Qamaruzzaman

Foreign and Law Minister: Khondoker Mostaq Ahmed

Commander-in-Chief: Colonel Muhammad Ataul Gani Osmani

Other Members

Major General Abdur Rab: Chief of Staff

Abdul Mannan: Chief of the Department of Press, Information, Radio and Film

Yusuf Ali: Chief of the Department of Relief and Rehabilitation

Matiur Rahman: Chief of the Department of Commerce

Amirul Islam: Chief of the Volunteer Corps


Advisory Committee

An advisory committee of 6 members was formed to provide necessary suggestions and guidance to the government of Independent Bangladesh.

  • Maolana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani
  • Professor Mozaffer Ahmed
  • Comrade Moni Singh
  • Sri Monoronjon Dhar
  • Tajuddin Ahmed &
  • Khondoker Mostaq Ahmed were on the committee.


Activities of Mujibnagar Government

The government ran the administration by the Bangalee officials. There were 12 ministries or divisions in it. Those were the Ministry of Foreign affairs; the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Industry and Commerce; the Cabinet Secretariat; the General Administration; the Health and Welfare Division; the Relief and Rehabilitation Division; the Engineering Division; the Planning Commission; the Controlling Board for Youth and Reception Camp etc.

The Mujibnagar government established Bangladesh mission in various important cities (Calcutta, Delhi, London, Washington, New York) of the world. These missions campaigned for having support in favour of Bangladesh from the world community.

The government appointed Justice Abu Sayed Chowdhury as a special envoy. He tried his best to get support of world leaders and the public as well in favour of the Liberation War.

The government divided the country into 11 sectors. Besides, some sub-sectors and 3 Brigade forces were formed.

During the liberation war, the leaders of that government would give guidance to the people of this country.
The government divided the country into 11 sectors

The provisional president and the Prime Minister would keep the whole country motivated through their speeches over the radio.  

Mujibnagar government contacted the United Nations, European countries, the USA, Russia and other powerful nations to mobilize public opinion in favor of the Mujibnagar government to get international recognition and support.

Under the leadership of Mujibnagar government, the freedom fighters fought in the battle fields to liberate the country from the occupation of the Pakistani forces. Many of them sacrificed their lives for the cause of the mother land.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post