The main political parties of Bangladesh

 The main political parties of Bangladesh

The party system of a country does not only explain the presence of political parties in that country. Rather, party system refers to the number, structure, their relation with government etc. According to the country's constitution, every citizen has the right to express his opinion freely and form organization or association. As a reflection of this, we can see the existence of a multi-party system in Bangladesh. Presently, there are many political parties in Bangladesh. Noteworthy among these are Awami League, Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), Jatiya Party (JP), Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD), Worker's Party of Bangladesh, Jamaat- E- Islami. A brief profile of these political parties is given below.

Bangladesh Awami League

Awami League is the oldest and largest political party. The Party was formed in Dhaka under the name Awami Muslim League on June 23, 1949. Later, to make it more acceptable to all, the word 'Muslim' was omitted from the label of the party in 1955.

Bangali nationalism, democracy, secularism and creation of an exploitation free society are the main principles of Awami League. The Party secured majority seats in the 1970 General Elections in Pakistan under the leadership of the father of the nation Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. The 1971 War of Liberation was fought under the leadership of the Awami League. Through this war, an independent, sovereign Bangladesh was born.

Bangladesh Nationalist Party

Bangladesh Nationalist Party is another large political party. Major General Ziaur Rahman founded the Party on September 1,1978. The ideals or principles of the Bangladesh Nationalist Party are - belief in islamic values, Bangladeshi nationalism, democracy and free market economy.

Jatiya Party:

Jatiya Party is the country's third largest Party. This Party was founded on 1st January 1986 under the leadership of Lt. General Hossain Mohammad Ershad. In the written proclamation of Jatiya Party, five party ideologies ware adopted. They are:

1) Independence and sovereignty, 2) Islamic Ideals and freedom of all religions, 3) Bangladeshi Nationalism, 4) Democracy and 5) Social progress, that is, economic emancipation.

Bangladesh Jamaat-e-Islami

Jamaat-e-Islami is a religion- based political party. This party was formed in 1941 in British India under the leadership of Maulana Abul Ala Maududi. It was named Jamaat-e-Islami Hind at that time. After the establishment of Pakistan, it was named Jamaat-e-Islami Pakistan. In May 1979, Jamaat-e-Islami Bangladesh emerged in independent Bangladesh.

Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD):

On 31 October 1972, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) was established in independent Bangladesh. JSD believes in socialist ideology.

Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB):

Bangladesh Communist Party was formed after the name of the Communist Party of India and Pakistan. Comrade Moni Singh (died 1990), who was the pioneer of the Communist movement in this country was the central leader of the Communist Party.

Bangladesh Workers Party:

Some fractions of the frequently divided pro-chinese communists united together to form Bangladesh Workers Party. This Party came into existence in 1980.

👉👉 You can also learn Political Parties and Election in Democracy

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post